# **Academic Staff Committee**

# Meeting Minutes – 11 August 2010 SS 1324B

Members: Brent Blahnik (Chairperson) Ken Knauf

Katrina Hrivnak Kelly Kramp
Dave Kieper Linda Parins

Guests: Dan Spielmann, Assistant Chancellor

#### 1. Welcome

**a.** Meeting was called to order at 2:30 p.m. by Brent Blahnik, ASC Chair.

#### 2. Introduction of the 2010-11 Academic Staff Committee

a. All members were present, brief introductions occurred

## 3. Information Exchange with Dan Spielmann, Assistant Chancellor

- **a.** Update on the Strategic Planning Process
  - i. Approximately 10 themes have been identified, the Chancellor will bring them to the Academic Staff Committee for discussion

### 4. Liaisons to Academic Staff Committees

- a. Leadership & Involvement Kelly Kramp
- **b.** Personnel Dave Kieper
- c. Professional Development Allocations Ken Knauf
- **d.** Legislative Katrina Hrivnak
- e. Professional Development Programming Linda Parins

#### 5. Election of Vice Chair

- a. Linda Parins was elected as the Vice Chair for 2010-11 (Chair-elect for 2011-12)
  - As Vice Chair/Chair-elect, Linda will be serving as the Academic Staff representative at Faculty Senate

## 6. Appointment of Secretary

**a.** the committee commiserated over the tenure departure of past secretary, Eric Craver... realizing his shoes would be difficult to fill the decision was made to rotate secretarial responsibilities amongst the current committee members

# 7. Appointment of Academic Staff Programming Committee Replacement

**a.** The Spring 2010 nomination/election data was reviewed, and Kim Desotell was identified as the Programming Committee replacement

## 8. Setting the 2010-11 Agenda

- a. Examine joint committees
- b. Serve as a source of information regarding collective bargaining
  - i. Not pro or con
    - 1. How does unionization affect shared governance?
- c. Position ourselves as informative in the budget planning process

### 9. Other Items

Meeting Adjourned at 3:30 p.m.

Next ASC Meeting to be determined Next recording secretary: Dave Kieper

All meetings are open unless otherwise stated.

Respectfully Submitted by Katrina Hrivnak, Recording Secretary (approved 9/9/10)