University of Wisconsin - Green Bay, "Connecting learning to life."
Home Search Departments University of Wisconsin - Green Bay UW-Green Bay PhoenixBursar's Office

Frequently Asked Questions


Q. What is the deadline to pay fees?
A.
The deadline is 4:30 p.m. CST on the date specified as the due date on Fee Information. Fees may be paid on-line, by mail or in person at the Bursar's Office, Cashier's Windows, Student Services Building, Room 1300. After the due date, mandatory administrative assessments (late fees) will be charged as shown on the fee information sheet. The Bursar's Office is open Monday - Friday from 7:45 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. except Labor day and Martin Luther King holidays.

If paying by mail, send a check, cashier's check, or money order. Please be sure to include the student name and Campus ID on the payment. If you want a receipt, send a self addressed stamped envelope. Receipts will not be returned without an envelope. Do not send Student I.D. cards.

-Top-

Q. Can I view my student account and/or financial aid information on-line?
A.
You can view this information by signing into the Student Information System. The student can set up SIS Guest Access, allowing you to view their financial information, make payments and print-out charges and payments for your records.

-Top-

Q. How can I set up a deferred payment?
A.
Deferred payment can be arranged. In cases of financial hardship or extenuating circumstances, contact the Bursar's Student Billing Office, SS 1300, to obtain a written extension. This delayed payment will not exempt you from mandatory late payment penalties. All students who do not make a payment by the due date, must contact Student Billing Office to make payment arrangements.

-Top-

Q. What is a Payment Plan and how does it work?
A.
The Payment Plan is available for Fall and Spring semesters only. For more information please click on Payment Plan.

-Top-

Q. When is Financial Aid Released?
A.
Financial aid will be released on the first day of classes. Any and all loans, scholarships, grants, or awards, whether public or private, designated for education expenses must be disbursed by the Bursar's Office. You must verify that this has occurred. If these checks are disbursed directly to you, bring them to the Cashier's Window. This must be done by the payment deadline to avoid additional administrative assessments for late payment. If your aid is delayed, you are responsible for making the fee payment on time or administrative assessments will be charged. If you have any questions about your financial aid, call (920) 465-2075.

-Top-

Q. What if I want to withdraw from my classes?
A.
If you have decided to not attend classes for the semester you must officially withdraw from school by contacting the Registrar's Office at (920) 465-2657. Failure to file an official withdrawal will result in fee charges as specified in the fee information sheet. Administrative assessments (withdrawal fees) are from $50 to $100 and are assessed starting the first day of class as on the Fee Information page. If you do nothing, you will owe the full amount of your semester charges.

-Top-

Q. What if I need a reinstatement from withdrawal?
A.
If you have unpaid charges from a previous term, you will be withdrawn from the upcoming term prior to the start of classes. You will be notified of this by mail and given a chance to pay. If you are withdrawn you will also be contacted by mail.

If you wish to attend classes in the upcoming term, you will need to pay any and all unpaid charges on your account. You will then be allowed to re-enroll in your classes.

-Top-

Q. What if I add or drop a course after the drop date?
A.
Any courses added or dropped after Week 2 will result in fee liabilities of 50% to 100% of fees (see Fee Information page). Please use the Student On-line Information System to be sure you are registered for the correct classes and sections before this date.

-Top-

Q. Where do I purchase parking permits?
A.
For students who attend on campus classes they will have the virtual permit fee added to their SIS account at the time the upcoming term fees are applied. Students who do not use the parking services can easily “opt out” though an option on their SIS account which removes the permit fee. Questions about parking regulations should be directed to the Parking Office at (920) 465-2301.

-Top-

Q. How do I know how much I owe?
A.
Fees are available on the Student Information System (SIS) in each student's account. If you have any questions about your fee payment, require an extension of the payment deadline, or desire an explanation of our policies, please contact the Bursar's Student Billing Office, SS 1300 at (920) 465-2224. You may also contact our office staff via E-mail.

-Top-

Q. Is my Financial Aid paying my bill?
A.
Most financial aid is disbursed to student accounts electronically. Check your account in the Student Information System to determine the amount of aid and whether there is a balance owed to UW-Green Bay or if there is a refund check to be picked up at the Cashier Window of the Bursar's Office, room 1300 in the Student Services Building.

-Top-

Q. Why did I receive the aid that I did?
A.
Contact the Financial Aid Office with questions about your aid award.

-Top-

Billing Questions

Q. Will I need to complete a Payment Agreement every semester?
A.
Yes. Once your Payment Agreement is completed, you will be able to register for classes and be eligible for the Payment Plan. With a Payment Agreement completed, if you make a 40% payment or your financial aid covers at least 40% of your total charges, you will automatically be put on the Payment Plan on the term due date.

-Top-

Q. Can all my tuition charges be included on the Payment Plan?
A.
Yes, tuition and fees as specified in the fee information sheet can be included. If you owe any administrative assessments (late add/late drop/late fees) or any other charges, they must be paid in full as incurred.

-Top-

Q. What amount of housing and food plan will be included in the Payment Plan?
A.
The rent and meal plan charges specified in your housing contract can be included in the Payment Plan. Damages, administrative assessments and any other charges must be paid when incurred and are not eligible for the Payment Plan..

-Top-

Q. Will I be charged the $25.00 membership fee every semester?
A.
The fee is assessed only for those semesters you choose to pay via the Payment Plan.

-Top-

Q. When will my payments become due?
A.
See Fee Information.

-Top-

Q. What about interest?
A.
No interest is charged if all payments are made by the due date. Interest is charged, at the rate specified on the Payment Agreement, on overdue balances after the final Payment Plan due date.

-Top-

Q. My financial aid will not be here by the due date, can I use the Payment Plan?
A.
Yes, you will be required to make the 40% down payment and when the aid arrives it will apply to the entire outstanding balance. Any excess aid would then be refunded to you.

-Top-

Q. If I pay the balance off early can I get my membership fee reduced?
A.
No, the membership fee is non-refundable.

-Top-

Q. I am receiving financial aid; can I use my financial aid for the Payment Plan?
A.
Yes, if your financial aid is 40% or more of your total balance due and if after your aid has been applied, your balance is over $200.00, on the due date you will automatically be put on the Payment Plan.

-Top-

Q. What if I sign up for the Payment Plan, make the down payment from my own pocket and then receive a financial aid award?
A
. Any unpaid balance will be taken out of your financial aid at the time it is disbursed. Any excess aid will be refunded back to you. (The $25.00 membership fee is not refundable.)

-Top-

Q. How do I determine the amount of my down payment?
A
. To determine your 40% down payment, refer to the Payment Plan Calculator and Payment Plan information. If you still have questions, please contact the Student Billing Office, room 1300 SS Bldg.

-Top-

Q. I have a question that has not been answered here, who should I talk to?
A.
With question concerning your financial aid, call the Financial Aid Office at (920) 465-2075. For questions regarding your charges, payments, UWGB billing policies or procedures, call the Bursar Student Billing Office at (920) 465-2224, Room 1300 Student Services Building.

-Top-