Legal Holidays

 

Legal Holiday 2017 2018
New Year's Day Monday, January 2, 2017 Monday, January 1, 2018
Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday Observed Monday, January 16, 2017 Monday, January 15, 2018
Memorial Day Monday, May 29, 2017 Monday, May 28, 2018
Independence Day Tuesday, July 4, 2017 Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Labor Day Monday, September 4, 2017 Monday, September 3, 2018
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 23, 2017 Thursday, November 22, 2018
Christmas Eve Sunday, December 24, 2017* Monday, December 24, 2018
Christmas Day Monday, December 25, 2017 Tuesday, December 25, 2018
New Year's Eve Sunday, December 31, 2017* Monday, December 31, 2018
*Floating Holiday is granted.

University offices are closed on these days. If you are a University Staff employee and occupy a position that requires you to work on a holiday, you earn time and a half for all hours worked. You can also defer the holiday to use at a later time.
If a legal holiday occurs on an employee's regularly scheduled day off (i.e., Saturday or Sunday), floating legal holiday time is granted (see exception below).

Exception: If the legal holidays of January 1, July 4, or December 25 occur on a Sunday, University offices will be closed on the following day (Monday) in observance of the legal holiday.
 
Allocation of Floating Legal Holiday
Floating legal holiday is allocated to the employee during the pay period in which the legal holiday occurs and will appear on the next leave or earnings statement.
 
Use of Floating Legal Holiday
Floating legal holiday may be used any time during the year it is earned. University staff employees must use the  floating legal holiday hours during the calendar year it is earned. Academic Staff and Limited employees must use the legal holiday hours during the fiscal year it is earned. If used before the legal holiday occurs, the balance will appear as a negative number on your earnings statement. Please refer to the bi-weekly and monthly absence instructions for how to record a floating legal holiday.

There are no provisions to allow employees to carryover floating legal holiday into the next fiscal year (Academic Staff/Limited) or calendar year (University Staff).