The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi

University of Wisconsin-Green Bay
 UWGB logo


Phi Kappa Phi is an academic honor society dedicated to the recognition and promotion of academic excellence in all fields of higher education. The Society was founded in 1897 when a group of ten students at the University of Maine decided there was a need for an honor society on broader lines than currently existed.  They established the Lambda Eta Society.  A year later, the name was changed to the Morrill Society, in honor of the sponsor of the Congressional Act which provided for land-grant colleges.  In 1900 the Morrill Society became national when members joined from the University of Tennessee and Pennsylvania State College (now Penn State University).  The Society was renamed Phi Kappa Phi, from the initial letters of the Greek words forming its adopted motto: Philosophia Krateito Photon, roughly translated as "Let the love of learning rule humanity."  Today there are nearly 300 chapters of the Society across the United States, Puerto Rico and the Philippines. Each year, Phi Kappa Phi awards more than $700,000 in national and local scholarships to students.

The UW-Green Bay Chapter of Phi Kappa Phi was installed in December 1997, and became the last chapter to be installed in the Honor Society's Centennial Year.  Our chapter's founding members include faculty, staff and administrators from across the UW-Green Bay campus and other Phi Kappa Phi members who live in Green Bay.  The founding members and their titles in 1997 are:
  • Mark Perkins, Chancellor
  • Howard Cohen, Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
  • Debbie Furlong, Policy and Planning Analyst
  • John Harris, Associate Professor of Business Administration
  • Chuck Ihrke, Associate Professor of Human Biology
  • Michael Kraft, Professor of Public and Environmental Affairs
  • James Marker, Associate Professor of Human Biology
  • Jan Mielke, Graphic Designer, University Communications
  • Joe Moran, Professor of Natural and Applied Sciences
  • Mike Morgan, Professor of Natural and Applied Sciences
  • Jane Muhl, Professor of Nursing
  • Keetjie Ramo, Associate Professor of Social Work
  • Chuck Rhyner, Professor of Natural and Applied Sciences
  • Dean Rodeheaver, Professor of Human Development and Assistant Chancellor for Planning and Budget
  • Paul Sager, Professor of Natural and Applied Sciences
  • Marc Vroman, Proctor and Gamble, Green Bay