Sustainability Committee

2017-2018 Committee Members

Committee Charge

Georjeanna Wilson-Doenges

Sustainability Committee Chair
Professor of Psychology

Patricia Albers

Lecturer of Accounting

John Arendt

Director of EMBI

Joshua Goldman

Academic Staff Committee
Manager of User Support Services

David Helpap

Assistant Professor of Public & Environmental Affairs

Paul Pinkston

Director of Facilities Management & Planning

Joseph Schoenebeck

Laboratory Manager, Chemistry, Physics

Gail Sims-Aubert

Director of Residence Life

Jill Fermanich

University Safety Manager

David Voelker

Associate Professor of History

Julie Green

Account Executive, 
Wisconsin Public Service

Megan Olson Hunt

Assistant Professor of Statistics

Christin DePouw

Associate Professor of Education


Committee Charge

UW-Green Bay, described as America’s first environmental university, where every day was Earth Day, was called “Eco U” by Harper’s Magazine, Newsweek and other national and regional media shortly after its founding roughly fifty years ago. The nickname came about in large part because of the University’s interdisciplinary approach to solving environmental problems.


  1. Building upon this historical foundation, the UWGB Sustainability Committee (hereafter identified as the Committee) will assist in the development of a culture of sustainability awareness and behaviors across the entire campus community.
  2. Working collaboratively with faculty, staff, students, and the community, Committee members will identify strategic opportunities to integrate sustainable practices into operational, educational, and residential programs and processes, leveraging available financial resources while seeking new financial resources to achieve identified goals.
  3. The Committee will build upon past and ongoing successes in environmental and sustainability efforts to create value and a competitive position with external stakeholders, differentiating ourselves from other higher education institutions.
  4. The Committee will support faculty efforts to embed sustainability concepts and teaching across the curriculum.
  5. As a signatory of the American College and University President’s Climate Commitment, with leadership and guidance from the Committee, UWGB will become climate neutral by 2050 through campus-wide efforts.
  6. The Committee reports to the Chancellor.



  1. The Committee will be comprised of members of the University community who express an interest in environmental sustainability and/or hold a position that encompasses elements of sustainability. The maximum voting membership is 16 individuals, and a quorum will consist of one more than half of the voting membership. Typically, this will include:
    1. A representative from Facilities, University Union, University Communications, Residence Life, Computing and Information Technology, and Purchasing;
    2. Staff members with sustainability responsibilities, such as NAS Lab Manager and Outreach Specialists;
    3. At least one current UWGB student;
    4. Community members with expertise and interest in sustainability; and
    5. Faculty and Academic Staff with expertise and/or interest in sustainability.
  2. Committee members will serve a mutually agreed upon number of years.
  3. The Committee will elect its own members, with approval from the Chancellor.
  4. The chairperson shall be a faculty member who will serve a three-year, uninterrupted term and receive a three-credit course reassignment for each year of his or her term. The Chancellor will appoint the chairperson, with input from the Committee and other stakeholders (such as the academic deans).



If you have more questions about the work of the Sustainability Committee, please contact Georjeanna Wilson-Doenges.