skip to content

Office of Marketing and University Communication

Experts on Children and Families

Domestic Violence:

Joanie Dovekas, Assistant Director, Office of Residence Life.
Sexual violence.
465-2844. dovekasj@uwgb.edu.

E. Nicole Meyer, Professor of Humanistic Studies.
Domestic violence.
465-2098. meyern@uwgb.edu.

Melissa Schnurr, Associate Lecturer of Outreach and Adult Access.
Middle childhood and adolescence. Teen dating violence and romantic relationships. Intergenerational transmission of violence.
465-2423. schnurrm@uwgb.edu.

Early Childhood:

Illene Cupit, Professor of Human Development (Psychology) and Women's and Gender Studies.
Director of Institute on Death, Dying and Bereavement. Infancy and early childhood. Attachment relationships of babies and young children to caregivers. Bereavement and grieving.
465-2703. cupiti@uwgb.edu.

Jennifer Lanter, Associate Professor of Human Development (Psychology).
Director of the Language Learning Lab (www.uwgb.edu/learnlab). Children’s language acquisition. Complexities of verbal sounds. Meaning of words in language learning. Children’s language comprehension. Children’s language production abilities.
465-2490. lanterj@uwgb.edu

Fertility and Reproduction:

Melissa Schnurr, Associate Lecturer of Outreach and Adult Access.
Pregnancy and birth.
465-2423. schnurrm@uwgb.edu.

Health and Welfare Issues Affecting Children and Families:

Stephanie Reilly, Director, NEW Partnership for Children and Families.
Health and welfare issues regarding children and families.
465-2866. reillys@uwgb.edu.

Middle Childhood and Adolescence:

Timothy Meyer, Professor Emeritus of Information and Computing Science (Communication). John P. Blair Endowed Chair in Communication.
Decades of published research on the impact of media and technology on children, adolescents and families.
920-360-6664. meyert@uwgb.edu.

Melissa Schnurr, Associate Lecturer of Outreach and Adult Access.
Middle childhood and adolescence. Teen dating violence and romantic relationships. Intergenerational transmission of violence.
465-2423. schnurrm@uwgb.edu.

Return to top | Return to Experts Guide home