skip to content

Office of Marketing and University Communication

Experts on Environmental Policy

Anti-environmentalism:

Andrew Austin, Associate Professor of Democracy and Justice Studies.
Anti-environmentalism.
465-2359. austina@uwgb.edu.

Laurel Phoenix, Associate Professor of Public and Environmental Affairs (Environmental Planning).
Anti-environmentalism. Water resources management. Drinking water quality. Water law. Rural sustainable development. Land use planning and property rights.
465-2402. phoenixl@uwgb.edu.

Environmental Economics:

John Stoll, Professor of Public and Environmental Affairs (Economics).
Environmental economics. Resource economics.
465-2358. stollj@uwgb.edu.

Environmental Ethics and Justice:

Michael Draney, Professor of Natural and Applied Sciences (Biology).
Spiders. Ecology of soil-dwelling arthropods in general. Conservation biology of invertebrates. Environmental ethics.
465-2270. draneym@uwgb.edu.

Derek Jeffreys, Professor of Humanistic Studies (Religion).
Religion. Religion and public life. Ethics, particularly religious, environmental and medical ethics. Political thought and intellectual vision of the present Pope. Buddhism.
465-2672. jeffreyd@uwgb.edu.

Brian Merkel, Associate Professor of Human Biology (Biology).
Immunology. Effects of PCBs on humans. Environmental justice.
465-2262. merkelb@uwgb.edu.

Environmental Planning:

Laurel Phoenix, Associate Professor of Public and Environmental Affairs (Environmental Planning).
Water resources management. Drinking water quality. Water law. Rural sustainable development. Land use planning and property rights. Anti-environmentalism.
465-2402. phoenixl@uwgb.edu.

Larry Smith, Professor Emeritus of Social Change and Development.
Sustainable development. Incentive-based land use management.
465-2355. smithl@uwgb.edu.

Georjeanna Wilson-Doenges, Associate Professor of Human Development and Psychology.
Environmental psychology (how the places people live and work affect them and vice versa). Design and planning attributes which contribute to sense of community and fear of crime or lack of it. Gated communities.
465-2479. wilsong@uwgb.edu.

Environmental Politics and Policy:

Michael Kraft, Professor Emeritus of Public and Environmental Affairs (Political Science). Herbert Fisk Johnson Professor in Environmental Studies.
Environmental politics and policy. Energy policy. The U.S. Congress. The presidency, Elections. Nuclear waste. Sustainable communities. Sustainable development. Population growth.
465-2531. kraftm@uwgb.edu.

Robert Wenger, Professor Emeritus of Natural and Applied Sciences.
Contemporary China. Chinese environmental problems and policy issues.
465-2371. wengerr@uwgb.edu.

Elizabeth Wheat, Assistant Professor of Public and Environmental Affairs (Political Science).
Courts and environmental law.
465-2848. wheate@uwgb.edu.

Return to top | Return to Experts Guide home