skip to content

Office of Marketing and University Communication

Experts on Human Life Span and Human Development

Adulthood and Aging:

Dean Von Dras, Professor of Human Development (Psychology).
Adulthood and aging.
465-5012. vondrasd@uwgb.edu.

Counseling and Psychotherapy:

Kristin Vespia, Associate Professor of Human Development.
Counseling and psychotherapy. Career development process.
465-2746. vespiak@uwgb.edu.

Death, Dying and Loss:

Illene Cupit, Professor of Human Development (Psychology, Women's and Gender Studies). Director of Institute on Death, Dying and Bereavement.
Infancy and early childhood. Attachment relationships of babies and young children to caregivers. Bereavement and grieving.
465-2703. cupiti@uwgb.edu.

Infancy and Early Childhood:

Illene Cupit, Professor of Human Development (Psychology, Women's and Gender Studies). Director of Institute on Death, Dying and Bereavement.
Infancy and early childhood. Attachment relationships of babies and young children to caregivers. Bereavement and grieving.
465-2703. cupiti@uwgb.edu.

Fergus Hughes, Professor Emeritus of Human Development (Psychology).
Infancy and early childhood. The importance and role of play and creative activities for infants and young children.
432-0403. hughesf@uwgb.edu.

Jennifer Lanter, Associate Professor of Human Development (Psychology).
Director of the Language Learning Lab (www.uwgb.edu/learnlab). Children’s language acquisition. Complexities of verbal sounds. Meaning of words in language learning. Children’s language comprehension. Children’s language production abilities.
465-2490. lanterj@uwgb.edu.

Middle Childhood and Adolescence:

Lloyd Noppe, Professor Emeritus of Human Development (Psychology).
Middle childhood and adolescence. Creative thinking.
noppel@uwgb.edu.

Melissa Schnurr, Associate Lecturer of Outreach and Adult Access.
Middle childhood and adolescence. Teen dating violence and romantic relationships. Intergenerational transmission of violence. Pregnancy and birth.
465-2423. schnurrm@uwgb.edu.

Jill White, Assistant Professor of Human Development.
Cross-cultural human development. Identity among Mexican-origin teens. Children and teens in Jordan.
465-2569. whiteji@uwgb.edu.

Stress and Coping:

Kate Burns, Associate Professor of Human Development (Psychology).
Stereotyping, emotion and self-regulation. Women in math.
465-2427. burnsk@uwgb.edu.

Regan A. R. Gurung, Professor of Human Development (Psychology).
Stress and coping. Close relationships. Health behaviors, focusing on the role of social support.
465-5679. gurungr@uwgb.edu.

Return to top | Return to Experts Guide home