skip to content

Office of Marketing and University Communication

Experts on Music, Art, Theater

Art History:

Sarah Detweiler, Associate Professor of Art and Design (Art).
The history of photography from its inception to the present, including current trends. Outsider art. Performance art. Zines. Exhibition juror.
465-2634. detweils@uwgb.edu.

Carol Emmons, Professor of Art and Design (Art, Art History). Frankenthal Professor.
Art history. Contemporary art. Contemporary sculpture.
465-2084. emmonsc@uwgb.edu.

Craig Lockard, Professor Emeritus of Social Change and Development (History). Ben J. and Joyce Rosenberg Professor.
Folk, protest and popular music in the U.S. and the world.
465-2355. lockardc@uwgb.edu.

Kaoime (Kay-vee, accent first syllable) Malloy, Associate Professor of Theatre and Dance (Theatre).
Costume design. Fashion history. Stage makeup.
465-2193. malloyk@uwgb.edu.

Stephen Perkins, Academic Curator of Art, Lawton Gallery.
Art. Culture. Art museums. Avant-garde art movements. England.
465-2916 (o), 337-2976 (h). perkinss@uwgb.edu.

Christine Style, Professor of Art and Design (Art).
Printmaking, history and process. Critique of works of art. Exhibition juror.
465-2294 (o), 465-9154 (h). stylec@uwgb.edu.

Arts Management:

Ellen Rosewall, Professor of Art and Design.
Arts management. The business of art. Economic impact of the arts. Arts in times of crisis. Cultural tourism.
465-2673/465-2348. rosewale@uwgb.edu.

Cinema and Film:

David Coury, Professor, Humanistic Studies (German).
Cinema and film.
465-2097. couryd@uwgb.edu.

Jeff Entwistle, Professor of Theatre and Dance (Theatre).
Theater scenic design. Stage lighting. Property design. Technical theater. Theater/film criticism.
465-2735. entwistj@uwgb.edu.

Jennifer Ham, Professor of Humanistic Studies (German).
German language. 19th and 20th century German culture, literature and popular entertainment. Nietzsche. Animal studies. Philosophy of education and pedagogy.
465-2461. hamj@uwgb.edu.

Classical and Contemporary Music:

Adam Gaines, Associate Professor of Music.
Trumpet pedagogy. Jazz studies. Electronic music. Music theory.
465-2440. gainesa@uwgb.edu.

Cheryl Grosso, Professor of Music. Frankenthal Professor.
Percussion music and instruments, especially ethnic music and instruments from around the world.
465-2132. grossoc@uwgb.edu.

Eric Hansen, Associate Professor of Music.
Clarinet pedagogy. Woodwind techniques. Freshmen music theory.
465-2148. hansene@uwgb.edu.

Craig Lockard, Professor Emeritus of Social Change and Development (History). Ben J. and Joyce Rosenberg Professor.
Folk, protest and popular music in the U.S. and the world.
465-2355. lockardc@uwgb.edu.

Michelle McQuade Dewhirst, Associate Professor of Music.
Contemporary art music. Popular music. Music theory. Music history. French horn.
465-2636. mcquadem@uwgb.edu.

Randall Meder, Associate Professor of Music.
Classical music. Voice. Music education. Music history. Choral music.
465-2442. mederr@uwgb.edu.

John Salerno, Associate Professor of Music. Director of Jazz Studies.
Jazz music and musicians.
465-2555. salernoj@uwgb.edu.

Theater:

Jeff Entwistle, Professor of Theatre and Dance (Theatre).
Theater scenic design. Stage lighting. Property design. Technical theater. Theater/film criticism.
465-2735. entwistj@uwgb.edu.

Laura Riddle, Professor of Theatre and Dance (Theatre).
Comedy in theater. Improvisation.
465-2441. riddlel@uwgb.edu.

Visual Arts:

Jeffrey Benzow, Associate Professor of Art and Design.
Graphic design.
465-2169. benzowj@uwgb.edu.

David Damkoehler, Professor Emeritus of Arts and Visual Design (Art). Ben J. and Joyce Rosenberg Professor.
Various aspects of popular culture. Art, particularly 20th and 21st century. Environmental design.
damkoehd@uwgb.edu.

Kristy Deetz, Professor of Art and Design (Art).
Painting and drawing. Oil painting. Contemporary art and painting.
465-2753 (o), 339-0568 (h). deetzk@uwgb.edu.

Sarah Detweiler, Associate Professor of Art and Design (Art).
The practice of photography and video art. Exhibition juror.
465-2634. detweils@uwgb.edu.

Alison Gates, Associate Professor of Art and Design (Art).
Weaving. Dye processes for textiles. Fiber identification. Textile preservation. Contemporary textile and fiber arts.
465-2597 (o), 430-1210 (h). gatesa@uwgb.edu.

Curt Heuer, Associate Professor Emeritus of Arts and Visual Design (Art).
Ceramics/pottery. Visual art of India, China and Japan. Arts of Indians of the Pacific Northwest and Islamic Middle East.
heuerc@uwgb.edu.

Christine Style, Professor of Art and Design (Art).
Printmaking, history and process. Critique of works of art. Exhibition juror.
465-2294 (o), 465-9154 (h). stylec@uwgb.edu.

Return to top | Return to Experts Guide home