skip to content

Office of Marketing and University Communication

Experts on Science

Astronomy and the Universe:

Heidi Fencl, Associate Professor of Natural and Applied Sciences (Physics).
Gamma-ray bursters.
465-2261. fenclh@uwgb.edu.

Michael Hencheck, Associate Professor of Human Biology.
The universe.
465-2803. henchecm@uwgb.edu.

R. Aileen Yingst, Director of Wisconsin Space Grant Consortium.
Space studies. Space geology. Mars Pathfinder mission. Astronomy and physics. Formation and structure of volcanoes.
465-2327. yingsta@uwgb.edu.

Biodiversity:

Robert Howe, Professor of Natural and Applied Sciences (Biology), and Director of Cofrin Center for Biodiversity. Barbara Hauxhurst Cofrin Professor of Natural Sciences.
Animal population dynamics, particularly forest birds. Resources management. Birds of Wisconsin. Bird migration. Biodiversity.
465-2272. hower@uwgb.edu.

Cell Biology:

Donna Ritch, Associate Professor of Biology and Human Biology.
Cell biology. Women in science.
465-2274. ritchd@uwgb.edu.

Chemistry:

Ronald Starkey, Professor Emeritus of Natural and Applied Sciences (Chemistry).
Chemistry. Molecular modeling. Design and automation of molecular modeling systems for organic molecules.
starkeyr@uwgb.edu.

Michael Zorn, Associate Professor of Natural and Applied Sciences (Chemistry).
Analytical and environmental chemistry.
465-5758. zornm@uwgb.edu.

Evolutionary Biology:

Craig Hanke, Associate Professor of Human Biology (Biology).
Functions of the organ systems. Effects of drugs in the treatment of disease. Functions of the nervous system. Controversies in science and religion.
465-5039. hankec@uwgb.edu.

Daniel Meinhardt, Associate Professor of Biology and Human Biology.
Evolutionary biology. Anatomy of vertebrates. Amphibians (particularly frogs). Philosophy of science.
465-2398. meinhada@uwgb.edu.

Frogs:

Daniel Meinhardt, Associate Professor of Biology and Human Biology.
Evolutionary biology. Anatomy of vertebrates. Amphibians (particularly frogs). Philosophy of science.
465-2398. meinhada@uwgb.edu.

Geology:

John Luczaj, Associate Professor of Natural and Applied Sciences (Geoscience).
Sedimentary systems. Geology of Wisconsin. Groundwater systems. Groundwater contamination. Rock and mineral identification. Volcanoes and earthquakes.
465-5139. luczajj@uwgb.edu.

Ronald Stieglitz, Professor Emeritus of Natural and Applied Sciences (Earth Science).
Geology. Groundwater resources. On-site waste disposal systems.
stieglir@uwgb.edu.

R. Aileen Yingst, Director of Wisconsin Space Grant Consortium.
Space studies. Space geology. Mars Pathfinder mission. Astronomy and physics. Formation and structure of volcanoes.
465-2327. yingsta@uwgb.edu.

Immunology:

Brian Merkel, Associate Professor of Human Biology (Biology).
Immunology. Effects of PCBs on humans. Environmental justice.
465-2262. merkelb@uwgb.edu.

Molecular Biology:

Warren Johnson, Associate Professor of Human Biology (Biology, Chemistry).
Molecular biology.
465-2275. johnsonw@uwgb.edu.

Neurobiology and Behavior:

Dennis Lorenz, Associate Professor of Human Development (Psychology).
Drugs and behavior. Brain function and learning. Addiction: all ages, including drugs, gambling, eating and others. Gambling: college students, adults and teens. Body weight: obesity, anorexia and bulimia. Sleep: normal and abnormal.
465-2535. lorenzd@uwgb.edu.

Plant Biology:

Michael Morgan, Professor Emeritus of Natural and Applied Sciences (Biology). Herbert Fisk Johnson Professor in Environmental Studies.
Causes and consequences of global warming. Various aspects of plant biology such as impacts of drought, floods and freezes, changes in leaf color with the seasons, pollen-caused allergies, endangered and rare plant species.
morganm@uwgb.edu.

Spiders and Insects:

Michael Draney, Professor of Natural and Applied Sciences (Biology).
Spiders and insects. Ecology of soil-dwelling arthropods in general. Conservation biology of invertebrates. Environmental ethics.
465-2270. draneym@uwgb.edu.

Volcanoes and Earthquakes:

John Luczaj, Associate Professor of Natural and Applied Sciences (Geoscience).
Sedimentary systems. Geology of Wisconsin. Groundwater systems. Groundwater contamination. Rock and mineral identification. Volcanoes and earthquakes.
465-5139. luczajj@uwgb.edu.

Weather and Climate:

Steven Meyer, Associate Professor of Natural and Applied Sciences (Geoscience).
Climate change and the causes and consequences of global warming. Severe and extreme weather events. General weather and climate information.
465-5022 (o), 884-8022 (h). meyers@uwgb.edu.

Women in Science:

Heidi Fencl, Associate Professor of Natural and Applied Sciences (Physics).
Science education. Women in science.
465-2261. fenclh@uwgb.edu.

Donna Ritch, Associate Professor of Biology and Human Biology.
Cell biology. Women in science.
465-2274. ritchd@uwgb.edu.

Return to top | Return to Experts Guide home