skip to content

Office of Marketing and University Communication

Experts on Sports and Athletics

Academic Support for Athletes:

Michael Kline, Athletics Academic Coordinator.
Academic support for athletes.
465-2950. klinem@uwgb.edu.

African Americans in American Sports:

James Coates, Associate Professor of Education.
African-Americans in American sport history. Coaching.
465-2857. coatesj@uwgb.edu.

Athletics Administration:

Mary Ellen Gillespie, Director of Intercollegiate Athletics.
Athletics administration. Sports corporate sponsorships.
465-2145. gillespm@uwgb.edu.

Athletics Coaching:

Brian Wardle, Head Coach, Men's Basketball.
465-5046. wardleb@uwgb.edu.

Kevin Borseth, Head Coach, Women's Basketball.
465-5077. borsethk@uwgb.edu.

Marc Baumbach, Head Coach, Interim, Men's Soccer.
465-2092. baumbacm@uwgb.edu.

Kacey Burke, Head Coach, Women's Soccer.
465-2737. burkek@uwgb.edu.

Tim DeSormeau, Head Coach, Men's Golf.
465-2145. desormet@uwgb.edu.

Kelsey Frey, Head Coach, Women's Golf.
465-2145. freyk@uwgb.edu.

James Merner, Head Coach, Swimming and Diving.
465-2367. mernerj@uwgb.edu.

Mark Thomas, Head Coach, Men's Tennis.
465-2145. thomasma@uwgb.edu.

Sommer May, Head Coach, Women's Tennis.
465-2281. mays@uwgb.edu.

Beth Spoehr, Head Coach, Women's Softball.
465-2364. spoehre@uwgb.edu.

Sean Burdette, Head Coach, Women's Volleyball.
465-2573. burdetts@uwgb.edu.

Michael Kline, Head Coach, Men's and Women's Cross Country.
465-2950. klinem@uwgb.edu.

Steve Teclaw, Head Coach, Men's and Women's Nordic Skiing.
465-2145. teclaws@uwgb.edu.

Athletics Marketing and Fundraising:

Mary Ellen Gillespie, Director of Intercollegiate Athletics.
Athletics administration. Sports corporate sponsorships.
465-2145. gillespm@uwgb.edu.

Athletics Publicity:

Andrew Gavin, Sports Information Director.
Sports statistics. Athletics publicity.
465-2498. gavina@uwgb.edu.

Athletics Training:

James Marker, Associate Professor of Human Biology (Biology).
Exercise, fitness and sports training, including human performance, exercise science, exercise training, strength training, aerobic training, ergogenic aids, fitness and health.
465-2230 (o). 468-1528 (h). markerj@uwgb.edu.

Health Care of Athletes:

Jeremy Cleven, Head Athletic Trainer.
Athletic health care. Sports medicine. Prevention, treatment, evaluation, rehabilitation of athletic/orthopedic injuries. Safety in athletics. Athletic training administration.
465-2138. clevenj@uwgb.edu.

Sports Corporate Sponsorships:

Mary Ellen Gillespie, Director of Intercollegiate Athletics.
Athletics administration. Sports corporate sponsorships.
465-2145. gillespm@uwgb.edu.

Sports Physiology:

James Marker, Associate Professor of Human Biology (Biology).
Exercise, fitness and sports training, including human performance, exercise science, exercise training, strength training, aerobic training, ergogenic aids, fitness and health.
465-2230 (o). 468-1528 (h). markerj@uwgb.edu.

Sports and Society:

James Coates, Associate Professor of Education.
African-Americans in American sport history. Coaching.
465-2857. coatesj@uwgb.edu.

Harvey Kaye, Professor of Democracy and Justice Studies (Sociology, History) and Director of the Center for History and Social Change. Ben J. and Joyce Rosenberg Professor.
American history and politics. Intellectuals. Radicals. Contemporary movements. Relationship of sports to society.
465-2755. kayeh@uwgb.edu.

Sports Statistics:

Andrew Gavin, Sports Information Director.
Sports statistics. Athletics publicity.
465-2498. gavina@uwgb.edu.

Women's Athletics:

Mary Ellen Gillespie, Director of Intercollegiate Athletics.
Athletics administration. Sports corporate sponsorships.
465-2145. gillespm@uwgb.edu.

Return to top | Return to Experts Guide home