University of Wisconsin - Green Bay, "Connecting learning to life." UW-Green Bay Home Search Departments Students Faculty & Staff Library A to Z University of Wisconsin - Green Bay UW-Green Bay Phoenix









Marketing and
University Communication
UW-Green Bay, CL 815
2420 Nicolet Drive
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
(920) 465-2626


Last update: 4/17/08

[University of Wisconsin-Green Bay News Release]

For Immediate Release:

April 17, 2008

Governor appoints Cyndie Shepard to Wisconsin Covenant committee

Photo: Cyndie Shepard.

GREEN BAY-Cyndie Shepard, co-founder and director of the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Phuture Phoenix Program, has been named to the Wisconsin Covenant Foundation Advisory Committee.

The committee, made up of community and business leaders, will work together to advance the statewide vision of the Wisconsin Covenant.

The Wisconsin Covenant, announced by Gov. Jim Doyle in 2006, promises eighth graders who sign a pledge and meet specific criteria during high school that they will earn a spot in a Wisconsin college or university, along with a financial aid package based on their family's need. A $40 million gift from the Great Lakes Higher Education Corporation in 2007 established the Wisconsin Covenant Foundation to back the promise.

"I am honored to have been asked to be a part of this bold initiative," Shepard said. "As we inspire students in our community through the Phuture Phoenix Program and other similar projects to do well in school, graduate from high school and consider going to college or technical school, the Wisconsin Covenant will give these students the opportunity to pursue their dreams."

Shepard is joined on the advisory committee by Ray Allen, Madison; Steve Bablitch, Milwaukee; Dr. David Buettner, Appleton; Tina Chang, Brookfield; Robert Chicks, Bowler; Holly Cremer Berkenstadt, Madison; Tim Cullen, Janesville; Ricardo Diaz, Milwaukee; Sue Dragisic, Elm Grove; Judith Faulkner, Verona; Cristy Garcia-Thomas, Mequon; Bev Greenberg, Milwaukee; Mary Gulbrandsen, Madison; Reed Hall, Marshfield; William Jenkins, Milwaukee; Betsy Kell, Eau Claire; Tim Martinez, Manitowoc; Jill Morin, Milwaukee; Cory Nettles, Milwaukee; Monty Schmidt, Madison; Mark Tauscher, Sun Prairie; Al Toon, Middleton; and David Ward, Madison.

"I hope, as part of this advisory group, that we will be able to help develop the processes needed to collaborate with communities throughout Wisconsin to fund this challenge," Shepard said. "This is an exciting prospect for the future of our children, our communities and our state."

The Phuture Phoenix Program has received recognition from the Governor's office before.

"I'm happy to have Cyndie on this committee with her background, expertise and foresight on helping our state's youth pursue higher education opportunities," Governor Doyle said. "I commend Cyndie and her husband, Chancellor Bruce Shepard, for their work on the Phuture Phoenix Program, which encourages students to graduate high school and go to college."

The Wisconsin Covenant Foundation Advisory Committee is co-chaired by Wisconsin First Lady Jessica Doyle and business leader Ed Howe.

"The education and opportunities we provide our youth will determine the future of Wisconsin in business, government, and civic life," Jessica Doyle said. "I look forward to working with Cyndie and the rest of the committee on this exciting program."

* * *

08-105 | Contact: Mike Heine, (920) 465-2526

Home | Search | A-Z Index | Departments & People | Campus News & Events | Directions