University of Wisconsin - Green Bay, "Connecting learning to life."
Home Search Departments University of Wisconsin - Green Bay UW-Green Bay PhoenixBursar's Office

General Information

Fall, Spring and Summer Semesters


Information: Fees:

Links:

BSN-LINC Nursing
BSN@HOME (Collaborative Nursing Program)
Adult Degree Programs
Return to Wisconsin Program
Midwest Student Exchange Program (MSEP)
Fee Waiver Policy - UW Extension Independent Learning


Refund Schedule - for Drops, Withdrawal, or Cancellation of Registration
(The withdrawal penalty is in addition to percents noted)

Course Length
 
Before Week 1 
Week 1 
Week 2 
Week 3 
Week 4 
Week 5+
12+ weeks
Tuition & Fees Refund: 100% 100% 100% 50% 50% None
Withdrawal Penalty: $0 $50 $100 $0 $0 $0
8 - 11 weeks
Tuition & Fees Refund: 100% 100% 50% 25% None None
Withdrawal Penalty: $0 $50 $0 $0 $0 $0
5 - 7 weeks
Tuition & Fees Refund: 100% 100% 50% None None None
Withdrawal Penalty: $0 $50 $0 $0 $0 $0
3 - 4 weeks
Tuition & Fees Refund: 100% 100% 25% None None  
Withdrawal Penalty: $0 $50 $0 $0 $0  
2 weeks
Tuition & Fees Refund: 100% 100% None      
Withdrawal Penalty: $0 $50 $0      
1 week
Tuition & Fees Refund: 100% None        
Withdrawal Penalty: $0 $0        

To DROP one or more classes, but remain enrolled in other classes for a semester; refer to the Tuition & Fee Refund percentage above.

To WITHDRAW you are dropping ALL classes in a semester. For example; taking 12+ week courses and withdrawing in week 1, you will have a 100% tuition refund and a $50 withdrawal penalty. In week 2, again 100% of tuition is refunded, with a $100 withdrawal penalty. In week 3 & 4, you will receive a refund of 50% (owing 50%) with no withdrawal penalty. By week 5 there is no refund, all tuition and fees are due.

WITHDRAWAL for summer, would mean dropping ALL classes in ALL sessions.

NOTE: Non-attendance of class or classes does not have any effect upon fee obligations! An official withdrawal is the only way to alter fee obligations. Withdrawal may not be done on-line. You must contact the Registrar's office to withdraw.

Financial Aid Refund checks can be picked up at the Cashier Window of the Bursar's Office in room 1300 of the Student Services Building on or after the first day of classes. If you are signed up for Electronic Refunding, the refund money should be in your bank account two business days after you see it posted to your SIS account.

Refunds resulting from personal check payments will be held for 14 business days from the date of the payment. A ten (10) day hold, from the date of the payment, will be put on any refund from e-check payments.

DUE DATES - Tuition and fees must be paid in full on or before 4:15 pm CST on the specified due date to avoid mandatory late payment assessments. A Payment Plan is available. See Fee Schedule and Deadlines for specific term due dates.

-Top-

PAYMENT METHODS -

On-Line Active Students : Sign on to the Student Information System (SIS) and select "Make a Payment". The on-line payment methods are Credit Card, Debit Card and Electronic Check. On-line payments are real-time and will reflect in your SIS account activity immediately.

On-Line Non-Active Students: Effective July 7, 2016 Non-Active students making payments on outstanding balance can make a payment by Credit/Debit Card or E- Check online at: https://www.nbspayments.com/signin/4KP4T

On your first visit to the online payment website, click "Create a username & password" under New Accounts. Follow prompts to create a new account. Your new username and password can be used on future online payments once you have created an account.

The 'Institution' to make online payments for Inactive Students is "UW-Green Bay Outstanding Balance".

Credit Card/Debit Card : We accept Visa, Mastercard, American Express and Discover. There is a convenience fee of 2.75% of the amount paid for both credit / debit cards. CREDIT / DEBIT CARDS ARE ONLY ACCEPTED ON-LINE, NOT AT THE CASHIER WINDOW.

Electronic Check (also called eCheck or Electronic Funds Transfer/EFT) : There is no fee for eCheck payments. There is no special setup required with your bank, simply input your bank's routing number (the first nine digits along the bottom of your checks, or contact your bank) and your checking or savings account number. Enter the information exactly as it appears on your bank records. Use your bank account number, NOT the number on your debit card.

Refunds on Electronic Payment: If a Refund generates from an electronic (online) payment it will be refunded directly to the student through their UW-Green Bay student account on our Student Information System (SIS).
**************************************************************************************
Cashier Window: Fees may be paid in person with cash or check at the Bursar Office Cashier Windows, located in room 1300 of the Student Services Building. Office hours are 7:45 am - 4:15 pm Monday through Friday (excluding holidays).

Make checks payable to UWGB. Please have your student ID card ready when conducting business at the cashier windows. CREDIT/DEBIT CARDS WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED AT THE CASHIER WINDOW.
*************************************************************************************
Mail: Payments may be mailed to: UW-Green Bay, Bursar’s Office, SS1300, 2420 Nicolet Drive, Green Bay, WI 54311-7001. Please make checks payable to UWGB and include the student Campus ID number on the payment. Payments must be received in the Bursar's Office by the close of business on the due date. We will NOT honor the postmark of mailed payments. If you would like a receipt, please include a self-addressed, stamped envelope with your payment.
************************************************************************************
Drop Box: A drop box is available outside of the Bursar’s Office, Room SS1300, in the Student Services Building for after-hours payments. Please include the student Campus ID number with your payment. If you would like a receipt, please include a self-addressed, stamped envelope. Payments left after the close of business on the due date will be considered late. *************************************************************************************
Telephone:  No Longer Available Effective June 30, 2016. *************************************************************************************
International Wire Payments: For International students only, the University of Wisconsin - Green Bay has partnered with peerTransfer to offer an innovative and streamlined way to make international tuition payments.  peerTransfer’s mission is to save international students and their families money that would otherwise be lost on bank fees and unfavorable foreign exchange rates.   With peerTransfer, you are offered excellent foreign exchange rates, allowing you to pay in your home currency (in most cases) and save a significant amount of money, as compared to traditional banks.  In addition, the posting of the payment into your University of Wisconsin - Green Bay account will be faster, and you will be notified via email when it is received.

Click: peerTransfer to begin the payment process.  

To get started, select the country from which funds will be coming and the payment amount in US dollars you wish to make to your student bill.

  • You will need your nine (9) digit UWGB Campus ID number.
  • In most cases, the US dollar amount will be converted into your home currency at preferential exchange rates, which will translate into savings for you.
  • After providing some additional basic information, you will book the transaction and will be instructed via email on how to pay peerTransfer from your home country bank account.
  • peerTransfer will then forward the US dollar amount to the University of Wisconsin - Green Bay where it will be directly credited to your student billing account.
  • You will receive an email to confirm receipt of payment
  • At any time, you will have a dedicated customer service team reachable via chat, Skype, email and phone to answer any of your questions

-Top-

LATE PAYMENT - After the payment deadline (close of business on the due date) an assessment for administrative costs (late fees) will be added to any unpaid account. Starting Fall 2013, late fees will be $7.00 per credit ($84.00 max). To appeal a late payment penalty, please complete the Late Payment Appeal Form and submit it to the Student Billing Office. Please direct all questions regarding late fees to the Bursar's Student Billing Office (SS 1300, 920-465-2224).

-Top-

WEEKS DEFINED - All references to weeks are defined as a week being seven (7) consecutive days from the start of the semester or session.

-Top-

FINANCIAL AID DISBURSMENT - Most financial aid applies to student accounts electronically. Refund checks for scholarships, grants, and loans will be available at the Bursar's Office cashier windows beginning on the first day of classes. You will be required to provide picture identification in order to pick up checks. Billing and payment information is available on-line at the Student Information System. Any balance due after financial aid has applied is the responsibility of the student and must be paid according to the established payment due dates.

If you foresee any problem in meeting fee payment requirements and deadlines, you should consult the Bursar's Student Billing Office for assistance.

-Top-

PAYMENT PLAN - For Fall and Spring semesters only, students who have a balance of more then $200 are eligible for the Payment Plan. A down-payment of 40 percent of the total owed must be paid by the fee payment due date. (Financial Aid does count towards this 40%). The balance due will be paid in two equal installments in each of the subsequent months. A non-refundable fee of $25.00 will automatically be charged with the second payment. The fee is charged each semester that the Payment Plan is used. For more information contact the Student Billing Office. A $10 late fee is charged for any late Payment Plan payments.

-Top-

INVOICES - NO PAPER BILLS. An EMAIL NOTIFICATION is sent to the student's campus email address in place of paper bills for currently enrolled students who have charges due. The email notification will direct students and parents/guests to the Billing Information link of this website for specific billing information for the current term or directly to the Student Information System (SIS).

The Student Information System (SIS) is the sole source of student financial information. The student and/or guest will need to go to their SIS account to see due dates and all financial information.

Contact the Bursar Student Billing Office (920-465-2224) with any questions regarding your fee assessment, payment deadlines or special exceptions.

-Top-

FEE OBLIGATION - Once a student has completed registration, an obligation to pay fees is in effect until such time as that obligation may be reduced by an official withdrawal filed with the Registrar’s Office or reduction of the credit load. If a student is withdrawn for nonpayment of fees and tuition, or withdraws voluntarily with unpaid fees, an obligation to pay fees remains in effect. Non-attendance of classes does not constitute an official withdrawal.

-Top-

AUDIT STUDENT - For the complete Auditor policy see the Registrar's Office website.

Students taking a mix of regular and audit courses are not eligible for a fee reduction. See the Registrar's Office for policies and procedures.

Audit Only students must have written approval from the course instructor prior to enrolling.  Please use the Audit Form in the Registrar’s office to secure approval from the course instructor and apply for a reduced fee.  Additionally, audit only students must complete a “special student” application with the Admissions office. Residency determination will be made at the time of application/admission to the University.

The decision to enroll on an audit basis for tuition purposes must be made at the time of registration.

Any course fees or field trip expenses are the responsibility of each student.

Wisconsin Residents under age 60 will be charged 30% of the normal per credit academic fee.

Wisconsin Residents Age 60 and older will have the normal academic fees waived. Age 60 and over auditors will be required to provide proof of date of birth (Driver’s license or birth certificate).

Disabled Wisconsin residents who are receiving disability insurance benefits under either the federal Supplemental Security Income (SSI) program or the federal Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) program will have the normal academic fees waived. A copy of your Social Security benefit letter will be required.

Minnesota Reciprocity residents will be charged 30% of the normal per credit Minnesota Reciprocity fee.

Nonresidents will be charged 50% of the normal per credit academic fee.

Audit Student Fee Payment Instructions
You must report to the Student Billing office (SS1300) to have charges manually adjusted to the appropriate audit rate. Tuition and fees are due at the time of registration.

Engineering Technology - Effective Fall 2015 a per term $700 program tuition fee will be charged to declared Engineering Technology majors. (see Engineering Technology webpage for more program information) .

-Top-

GRAD STUDENT TAKING UNDERGRAD COURSE or UNDERGRAD STUDENT TAKING GRAD COURSE - The assessment of undergraduate tuition versus graduate tuition should be based upon the level of enrollment, i.e., a student enrolled as a graduate student taking some undergraduate courses shall be assessed graduate level fees for all credits. Conversely, an undergraduate student taking a graduate level course shall be assessed undergraduate level fees for all credits, as long as the graduate level course is not later used toward a graduate degree. If these graduate courses are later used toward a graduate degree, the student may be assessed the fee differential at that time.

The student will make this request through the Registrar's office, with a copy to Student Billing. Additional fee assessment will be calculated and due upon this request.

-Top-

APPEALS - Questions regarding fee obligations and refunds should be directed to the Student Billing Office. If an appeal is desired, the student should submit a Appeal of Institutional Charges Form. In the case of past term delinquent accounts, the right to appeal fee obligations ends once the account is sent to a collection agency.

-Top-

ADDED CREDITS - In most situations, adding credits will result in additional fee liability. If you add and drop courses during the 100% refund period and those courses have the same credits, are of the same session length, and begin in the same week, you will not have additional fee liability. Always check your SIS account after making changes to your schedule.

-Top-

CREDIT HOUR DEFINITION - A credit hour is an amount of work represented in intended student learning outcomes and verified by evidence of student achievement that is an institutionally-established equivalency that reasonably approximates not less than one hour of classroom or direct faculty instruction and a minimum of two hours of out-of-class student work each week for approximately fifteen weeks for one semester, or the equivalent amount of work over a different amount of time, or the equivalent amount of work for other activities as established by the University including but not limited to graduate work, internships, practica, studio work, and other academic work leading toward the awarding of credit hours.

-Top-

LATE ADD ASSESSMENT - If a student petitions for permission to add a course after the add deadline, late add fees of $15 per course will be assessed if the petition is approved. Additional fees may also be due since students will be assessed for all adds and drops after the 100% refund period rather than the net result of those adds and drops. Check fee implications with the Bursar's Student Billing Office, before submitting a Late Add Petition to the Registrar.

-Top-

COURSE FEES - Certain courses require special fees for materials, field trips, equipment rentals, etc. Course fees will be identified in the timetable. In most cases these fees are a non refundable obligation. You may inquire about the refund policies with the department offering the course. The Distance Ed course fee of $25 per credit is only refunded during the Add/Drop period of a semester.

CLICKER RENTAL - Certain courses require the use of a clicker. Only one clicker is required, regardless the number of clicker courses you are enrolled in for a semester. The fee to rent a clicker is $7.00 per semester and will appear on your SIS account. Clickers must be picked up and returned at the library.

If you drop a clicker course within the add/drop period, and return the clicker to the library, the $7.00 rental fee will be removed from your SIS account.

Click here for more information about clickers.

-Top-

ONLINE (INTERNET) COURSES - Effective Fall 2016:  All Graduate and Undergraduate students taking online classes (as defined by UW-Green Bay policy) pay resident tuition, segregated fees, and the per credit online course fee for all online classes within the tuition plateau.

Non-resident Graduate and Undergraduate students taking a mix of online and face-to-face classes are charged applicable non-resident tuition for all face-to-face courses; and resident tuition, segregated fees, and applicable per credit online course fees for all online courses.  All classes are charged within the plateau.

Students pay the per credit online course fee for all online courses taken during a particular semester, session, or term regardless of the number of credits taken.

The tuition plateau for Fall and Spring is between 12 and 18 credits for Undergraduate students. The plateau is the range of credits where tuition normally remains the same.

January Interim does not have a tuition plateau.

Summer session plateau is 6 to 9 credits for Undergraduate students.

An Online course is defined as one in which 75 percent or more of the instruction and interaction takes place through a non face-to-face modality. Distance education courses include those that employ correspondence study, or audio, video or computer technologies.

Currently Enrolled Integrated Leadership Studies Students:  Students enrolled in the Integrated Leadership Studies (ILS) program during the Spring 2016 semester will be charged segregated fees at a rate of 50% during the 2016-2017 academic year.  Beginning with the 2017-2018 academic year students will be charged at the 100% rate

ONLINE COURSE FEE - Effective Fall 2016:  A course fee of $25.00 per credit will be assessed for all online courses. These funds will be used to (1) cover the costs associated with purchasing and maintaining the software that is used to develop and deliver distance education courses; (2) cover the costs of state authorization fees for distance delivery; (3) offset the costs of staffing student support services (e.g. Instructional Design, Help Desk, Library, Advising, Tutoring, etc.) (4) cover the costs associated with purchasing or licensing online library resources; (5) provide specialized training to faculty and teaching academic staff who develop, deliver, and/or support distance education courses; and (6) promote the development of new distance education programs.  A full refund of this fee will only occur during the 100% refund period (add/drop period) of a semester or session.

-Top-

RETURNED CHECKS - Any check (paper or electronic) which is returned for non-sufficient funds (NSF) or closed account, will be subject to the appropriate fee and penalty obligations in effect. A $20 returned check charge, as allowed by Wisconsin Statute, will be assessed.

When using the Electronic Check payment method, enter your routing number and account number information carefully. Enter the information requested exactly as it appears on your bank records or contact your bank for assistance. Use your bank account number, NOT the number on your debit card.

If an Electronic check payment is returned "invalid account", the Bursar's office will contact the student via email and letter. Any late fees that are applicable, will be posted to the student's account. If a student receives more than two (2) such notices in a semester, they will no longer be allowed to use the online payment system.

-Top-

FOCUS FEE - All new freshmen will be assessed a $212 fee for the FOCUS program. The fee will cover cost associated with programs such as Registration and Resources
(R and R), Summer Connections, Campus Welcome, Orientation, and Major Fair.

-Top-

GRADUATION/DIPLOMA FEE - The graduation/diploma fee is used to cover academic record and security related costs including records maintenance, data storage, degree conferral, diploma materials, production, and associated mailing costs. All Undergraduate students are charged the one-time $45 fee once they reach 84 earned or in progress credits. All Grad students are charged the one-time $45 fee once they reach 15 earned or in progress credits. Questions regarding this fee should be addressed to gboss@uwgb.edu.

-Top-

MATHEMATICS PLACEMENT TESTING - All entering freshmen will be assessed a $25 fee for the Wisconsin Mathematics Placement Test.

-Top-

STUDENTS EXCEEDING 165 CREDITS - All resident undergraduate students who have accumulated 165 credits (or 30 credits more than required by their degree programs, whichever is greater) will be charged a surcharge, equal to 100 percent of the regular resident tuition, on credits beyond that level. For more information see Tuition Payment for Students Exceeding 165 Degree Credits. The Tuition Surcharge Waiver Form can be found on the Registrar's website.

-Top-

WITHDRAWAL AND FINANCIAL AID RETURN POLICY - "UW system institutions are responsible for complying with federal regulations governing participation in the student financial assistance programs authorized under Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended. To the extent that these regulations require a larger refund to federal funding sources than the amount specified by the refund policy, the student will be responsible for the difference." For further information please contact the UW-Green Bay Financial Aid Office.

-Top-