COVID-19: See our Phoenix Forward page

Master Academy | Countering Terrorism Series

Held Virtually via Zoom | Cost: $59/Session or $250 for Full Series | Use code TERROR for discount
October 28, October 29, November 3, & November 10, 2021
Registration Closed


 
Cancellation Policy

All cancellations have a $25 non-refundable processing charge. Cancellations 14 days prior to each session will not receive a refund.

IIMC Approved for CMC & MMC Hours

UW-Green Bay: Each session qualifies for 2 hours of IIMC (CMC, MMC); MTAW (Treasurers Certificates); WMCA (WCMC, WCPC); UW-Green Bay County Certificates. If you attend all 5 sessions you will have earned 10 hours.

Questions? Contact Kassie Van Remortel at 920-465-2468 or vanremok@uwgb.edu 
  

Sessions

October 28, 2021 - Registration Closed


Afternoon Sessions
 
2:00 pm-3:00 pm EST | 1:00 pm-2:00 pm CST | 11:00 am-Noon PST
Panel Session A | Domestic Unrest:  Considerations for the Protection and Safety of our Citizens​
 
3:15 pm-4:15 pm EST | 2:15 pm-3:15 pm CST | 12:15 pm-1:15 pm PST
Panel Session B | Clerks’ Reflections:  Don’t think this can’t happen in your community!​
 

October 29, 2021 - Registration Closed


11:00 am-1:00 pm EST | 10 am-Noon CST |​ 8:00 am-10:00 am PST
Developing a Terrorism Needs Assessment Plan for Your Community​
 

November 3, 2021 - Registration Closed

 
2:00 pm-4:00 pm EST | 1:00 pm-3:00 pm CST | 11:00 am-1:00 pm PST​
Business Email Compromise Terrorism: The next big digital threat
 

November 10, 2021- Registration Closed

 
11:00 am-1:00 pm EST | 10 am-Noon CST | 8:00 am-10:00 am PST
Don’t be held Ransom:  Learn defense measures against Ransomware.  It can happen to you.  
Ransomware is malware that is designed to cripple computer systems by encrypting all data and files until a ransom is paid.  Early malware variants could encrypt only one device at a time, but modern variants such as Ryuk have shown the ability to cripple entire network, including back-up systems which makes modern ransomware attacks a true business interruption event.

This session will cover the basics of how this malware is spread and how it behaves once a system is affected.  We will then cover sound defensive measures designed to prevent ransomware, how to detect potential indicators of compromise, and how to recover in the event your systems is attacked.

Presenters:  
  • Mark Eich, Principal, Cybersecurity/SOC, CliftonLarsonAllen LLP-Bloomington MN
  • David Sun, Principal, Cyber Incident Response and Forensics:  CliftonLarsonAllen LLP-Arlington, VA
2:00 pm-4:00 pm EST | 1:00 pm-3:00 pm CST | 11:00 am-1:00 pm PST​
Naming, Blaming, Claiming Prejudice and Discrimination in Counter-Terrorism
Ty and Sean have a great discussion planned. We will discuss a few major elements, principally the causes/effects of prejudice and discrimination, especially in the post-9/11 era. We will spend a great deal of time  focusing on community engagement strategies known to work and the many success stories out there.

Presenters:  
  • Sean McCandless, PhD, Associate Director:  Doctorate in Public Administration Program
  • Tyrone Dooley, PhD, Associate Professor;  University of Illinois at Springfield