Chancellor’s Council on Diversity and Inclusive Excellence Meeting

Thursday, December 11, 2014

1965 Room, University Union

Members Present

Brenda Amenson-Hill (DOS) , Stacie Christian (AIC & LGBTQ), Joanie Dovekas (Res Life), Jennifer Lanter (CATL), Minkyu Lee (Art & Design), Melissa Nash(HR), Sheryl Van Gruensven (HR), Lynn Niemi (Disability Services), Scott Furlong (Dean, Lib. Arts & Sciences), Katie Burns (HD), Brian Wardle (Athletics), Kimberley Reilly ( Democracy and Justice Studies) Joanne Dolan (CATL),Alegra Fowler, Loretta Rafter

Members Absent

Grace Vecchie (Student liaison), Sue Mattison (Dean, Prof. Studies), Adam Parrillo (Urban & Reg. Studies), Kim Desotell (Director of Development), Justin Mallett (Diversity Director), Lorenzo Lones (Student Liaison), Camara Wallace (Student Liaison),Forrest Brooks (Outreach & Adult Access), Bryan Carr (Assistant Prof.), Liz Peterson (Student Liaison), Michael Casbourne (TRIO), Nicole Miller (HD)

Inclusive Workplace:  Chair – Melissa Nash
Members: Sheryl Van Gruensven, Stacie Christian, Michael Casbourne, Sousie Lee, Joanie Dovekas, Lynn Niemi, Jen Lanter, Forrest Brooks, Kristy Aoki, Mai Lo Lee, Minkyu Lee and Kimberley Reilly.
The first new employee and mentor gathering went very well and will probably become a bi-annual event. Creating a survey to see what resource groups’ employees would like to have: New professional, Veterans, Disability, 1st Time Parents, LGBTQ. Working on Inclusivity in the Academic evaluation, it exists for Staff evaluations.
Inclusive Classroom: Chair - Kate Burns
Members: Lynn Niemi, Jennifer Lanter, Adolfo Garcia, Kris Vespia, Regan Gurung, David Voelker,  Liz Peterson, Adrianne Fletcher, Dan Meinhardt, Christin DePouw, Lorenzo Lones, Grace Vecchie and Camara Wallace
 Last year’s survey is being analyzed and the report will be done soon. They would like to update the vocabulary identification for minorities and LGBTQ. Need some type of a check system for University groups so that there is no duplicating actions/goals.
Student Mentorship Program: Chair – Brenda Amenson-Hill
Members: Forrest Brookes, Aurora Cortes, Justin Mallett, Deirdre Radosevich, Kari Moody
Following up on last year’s student panel – need stronger mentor program for transfer students and multi-cultural students.
Community Relationships: Chair – Justin Mallett
Members: Nicole Miller, Kim Desotell, Denise Bartell, Alegra Fowler
Recruit for Youth Advisory Group to help enhance enrollment. Wants to be more visible in the grade school level. Brian offered athletes to help with youth community connection.
Inclusive Excellence Certificate Program goals: Looking for speakers on different topics. Would like 3 people from the committee to help with evaluations of Certificates. How do we motivate Academia to attend Certificate Series? Possible Founders Award for attending.
Next meeting date to be determined.