skip to content

Office of Marketing and University Communication

Experts on Health and Wellness

Stacie Christian, Director of Inclusive Excellence & Pride Center, Associate Lecturer of Human Development. Health Psychology; Gender Issues; LGBTQ Issues
(920) 465-2167. christis@uwgb.edu.

International Education and Travel:

Kristin Aoki, Student Advisor, International Education. Japan, Scotland, Study Abroad, International Students. Fitness, Zumba.
(920) 465-5164. aokik@uwgb.edu.

Health Issues Pertinent to University Setting:

Lissa Balison, Counselor. Mental Health Counseling
(920) 465-2380. balisonl@uwgb.edu.

Denise Bartell, Director of Student Success and Engagment. Director of GPS. Family relationships, especially marriage, parenting and mate selection. Healthy family relationships. Romantic relationships. Friendships. Development of relationships in youth, young adults and throughout the lifespan. Relationship education. College student development.
(920) 465-5041. bartelld@uwgb.edu.

Amy Henniges, Director of Counseling and Health Center. Health issues pertinent to University Setting.
(920) 465-2807. hennigea@uwgb.edu.

Joel Muraco, Lecturer of Human Development. Romantic relationships, relationship satisfaction, LGBT experience, LGBT minority stress, mental health, and well-being.
muracoj@uwgb.edu.

Dana Stueber, Health Educator. Health And Wellness; Sexual Violence Statistics; Community Protocol for Care of Sexual Assault Victims; Forensic Evidence Collection
(920) 465-2380. stueberd@uwgb.edu.

Health Issues Pertinent to Children and Families:

Denise Bartell, Director of Student Success and Engagment. Director of GPS. Family relationships, especially marriage, parenting and mate selection. Healthy family relationships. Romantic relationships. Friendships. Development of relationships in youth, young adults and throughout the lifespan. Relationship education. College student development.
(920) 465-5041. bartelld@uwgb.edu.

Joel Muraco, Lecturer of Human Development. Romantic relationships, relationship satisfaction, LGBT experience, LGBT minority stress, mental health, and well-being.
muracoj@uwgb.edu.

 

Health Behaviors:

Jana Fogaca, Ph.D. Sport and Exercise Psychology
(920) 465-2569. fogacaj@uwgb.edu.

Regan A. R. Gurung, Professor of Human Development (Psychology). Stress and coping. Close relationships. Health behaviors, focusing on the role of social support.
(920) 465-2316. gurungr@uwgb.edu.

James Marker, Associate Professor of Human Biology (Biology). Physiology of exercise. Sports physiology.
(920) 465-2230. markerj@uwgb.edu.

Ryan Martin, Professor of Psychology and Human Development. Emotions and Social Media; Emotion in general; Anger and Violence; Mental Illness
(920) 465-2322. martinr@uwgb.edu.

Brandon Schlotthauer, Director of Strength & Conditioning and Associate Lecturer of Human Biology. Strength & Conditioning; Injury Risk Reduction; General Athletic Development
(920) 465-2681. schlottb@uwgb.edu.

Art & Humanities

Susan Frost, Associate Lecturer of Humanistic Studies. The Humanities, Marketing/Advertising Consulting, 21st Century Studies, Art & the Humanities in the 21st Century Workplace
(920) 465-2995. frosts@uwgb.edu.

Community Health:

Patricia Kleba, Associate Lecturer of Nursing and Health Information Management Technology. Nursing—hospice and palliative care, pharmacology
(920) 465-2826. klebap@uwgb.edu.

Kaoime Malloy, Professor of Theatre & Dance. Makeup; Special Effects; Japanese Art and Culture; Irish Art and Culture; Art Appreciation; Photoshop and Digital Painting; Buddhism and Shintoism; Pagan Studies; Massage Therapy; Medical Herbalism; Traditional Chinese Medicine
(920) 465-2193. malloyk@uwgb.edu.

Amanda Nelson,
Associate Professor of Human Biology and Associate Dean of College of Science & Technology. Athletic Training; Exercise Physiology; Anatomy & Physiology; Neuroanatomy
(920) 465-2197. nelsona@uwgb.edu.

Laura Nolan, Cpe & State Registry Project Specialist. Dementia Care; End of Life Issues; Senior Healthcare; Long-term Care; Assisted Living
(920) 465-2772. nolanl@uwgb.edu.

Laura Rowell, Dietetic Internship Director and Lecturer of Human Biology. Wellness; Health Coach
(920) 465-2094. rowelll@uwgb.edu.

Jennifer Schwahn, Senior Advisor. Nursing Programs at UWGB
(920) 465-2934. schwahnj@uwgb.edu.

Gail Trimberger, Associate Professor of Social Work. End of Life Care; Grief and Loss; Professional Ethics
(920) 465-2049. trimberg@uwgb.edu.

Katie Turkiewicz, Assistant Professor of Information & Computing Science and Communication. Strategic Health Communication Campaigns; Health Communication and Technology; Patient-Provider Communication; Cyberchondria
(920) 465-2481. turkiewk@uwgb.edu.

Christine Vandenhouten, Associate Professor of Nursing. Community health nursing. HIV/AIDS. Social justice. Impact of poverty on health outcomes. Immersion/simulation learning face to face and virtual worlds (e.g., Second Life). Health policy. Assessment of education outcomes. Adult education (educational technology).
(920) 465-2994. vandenhc@uwgb.edu.

Food Science:

Le (Leanne) Zhu, Associate Professor of Human Biology. Food chemistry, mineral fortification, functional foods.
(920) 465-2354. zhul@uwgb.edu.

Human Relationships:

Denise Bartell, Director of Student Success and Engagment. Director of GPS. Family relationships, especially marriage, parenting and mate selection. Healthy family relationships. Romantic relationships. Friendships. Development of relationships in youth, young adults and throughout the lifespan. Relationship education. College student development.
(920) 465-5041. bartelld@uwgb.edu.

Regan A. R. Gurung, Professor of Human Development (Psychology). Stress and coping. Close relationships. Health behaviors, focusing on the role of social support.
(920) 465-2316. gurungr@uwgb.edu.

Joel Muraco, Lecturer of Human Development. Romantic relationships, relationship satisfaction, LGBT experience, LGBT minority stress, mental health, and well-being.
muracoj@uwgb.edu.

Christine Smith, Associate Professor of Human Development (Psychology/Women’s and Gender Studies). Psychology of women. Body image and weight. Romantic and interpersonal relationships. Lesbian and gay issues. Prejudice and stereotyping. The impact of social class.
(920) 465-5124. smithc@uwgb.edu.

Infectious Diseases:

Donna Ritch, Associate Dean of College of Liberal Arts & Sciences and Associate Professor of Human Biology. Anatomy; Cell Biology; Human Disease
(920) 465-2274. ritchd@uwgb.edu.

Christine Vandenhouten, Associate Professor of Nursing. Community health nursing. HIV/AIDS. Social justice. Impact of poverty on health outcomes. Immersion/simulation learning face to face and virtual worlds (e.g., Second Life). Health policy. Assessment of education outcomes. Adult education (educational technology).
(920) 465-2994. vandenhc@uwgb.edu.

Nutrition:

Debra Pearson, Associate Professor of Human Biology (Nutritional Sciences). Human nutrition. Possible health benefits of phenolic compounds in plant-derived foods (e.g., tea, rosemary, grape seed extracts, chocolate). Sports nutrition. Nutrition and pregnancy. Diabetes. Osteoporosis. Cancer.
(920) 465-2280. pearsond@uwgb.edu.

Laura Rowell, Dietetic Internship Director and Lecturer of Human Biology. Wellness; Health Coach
(920) 465-2094. rowelll@uwgb.edu.

Le (Leanne) Zhu, Associate Professor of Human Biology. Food chemistry, mineral fortification, functional foods.
(920) 465-2354. zhul@uwgb.edu.

Return to top | Return to Experts Guide home