skip to content

Office of Marketing and University Communication

Experts on Science

Scott Ashmann, Associate Professor of Education. Nature-based early childhood education
(920) 465-2052. ashmanns@uwgb.edu.

Md Maruf Hossain, Assistant Professor of Engineering Technology. Electrical Engineering; Electrical Power Systems; Solar and Wind Energy Systems; Renewable Energy Integration with the Power Grid; Power System Stability; Power Quality
(920) 465-2762. hossainm@uwgb.edu.

David Voelker, Associate Professor of History and Humanistic Studies. Early American History through the Civil War; American Religious History; American Environmental History
(920) 465-2491. voelkerd@uwgb.edu.

Astronomy and the Universe:

Heidi Fencl, Professor of Natural and Applied Sciences (Physics). Gamma-ray bursters.
(920) 465-2261. fenclh@uwgb.edu.

Michael Hencheck, Associate Professor of Human Biology. The universe.
(920) 465-2803. henchecm@uwgb.edu.

Brian Welsch, Assistant Professor of Physics. The magnetic structure of solar magnetic fields, such as sunspots; physical processes at work in solar flares and eruptions; and the effects of solar activity on Earth. Plasma physics, astrophysics, and geophysics.
(920) 465-5117. welschb@uwgb.edu.

Biodiversity:

Robert Howe, Professor of Natural and Applied Sciences (Biology), and Director of Cofrin Center for Biodiversity. Barbara Hauxhurst Cofrin Professor of Natural Sciences. Animal population dynamics, particularly forest birds. Resources management. Birds of Wisconsin. Bird migration. Biodiversity.
(920) 465-2272. hower@uwgb.edu.

Vicki Medland, Associate Director of Cofrin Center for Biodiversity and Adjunct Assistant Professor of Environmental Science & Policy. Biodiversity; Ethics of Collecting; Natural History; Heirloom Vegetables; Gardening; Food and Community; Art and Natural History; Scientific Illustration
(920) 465-2342. medlandv@uwgb.edu.

Biology:

Michael Draney, Professor of Natural & Applied Sciences, Associate Professor of Biology. Spiders, Insects, and other Invertebrate Animals  
(920) 465-2270. draneym@uwgb.edu.

James Marker, Associate Professor of Human Biology. Fitness; Exercise Training,; Ergogenic Sports Aids; Sports Nutrition;  Environmental Physiololgy; Hormones and Exercise; Caloric Expenditure/Metabolism; Folk music and folk guitar/banjo
(920) 465-2230. markerj@uwgb.edu.

Daniel Meinhardt, Associate Professor of Biology and Human Biology. Evolutionary biology. Anatomy of vertebrates. Amphibians (particularly frogs). Philosophy of science.
(920) 465-2398. meinhada@uwgb.edu.

Amanda Nelson, Associate Professor of Human Biology and Associate Dean of College of Science & Technology. Athletic Training; Exercise Physiology; Anatomy & Physiology; Neuroanatomy
(920) 465-2197. nelsona@uwgb.edu.

Donna Ritch, Associate Dean of College of Liberal Arts & Sciences and Associate Professor of Human Biology. Anatomy; Cell Biology; Human Disease
(920) 465-2274. ritchd@uwgb.edu.

Chemistry:

Mandeep Singh Bakshi, Assistant Professor. Functional Biomaterials for Sustainable Chemistry. Biomineralization. Aqueous phase synthesis, characterization, and physical properties of BIO-NANOMATERIALS by using water soluble Proteins, Polymers, and their Self-assembled structures. Special emphasis on the native and denatured states of proteins controlled crystal growth.
(920) 465-5169. bakshim@uwgb.edu.

Michael Zorn, Associate Dean of College of Science and Technology and Professor of Natural and Applied Sciences (Chemistry). Analytical and environmental chemistry.
(920) 465-5758. zornm@uwgb.edu.

Computer Science:

ASM Iftekhar Anam, Assistant Professor of Information and Computing Science. Machine Learning, Computer Vision, Accessible Technology, Human-Computer Interaction, Assistive Technology.
(920) 465-2622. anami@uwgb.edu.

Bryan Carr, Assistant Professor of Communication, Information and Computing Sciences; Communication Mass Media emphasis adviser, Information Science Game Studies emphasis adviser. Communications and Media, Ethnic Groups/Diversity Issues, Popular Culture, Technology.
(920) 465-5042. carrb@uwgb.edu.

Ankur Chattopadhyay, Assistant Professor of Information and Computing Science. PI and Director of UWGB Center of Cyber Security, Co-PI and Lead Faculty of NSA Gen Cyber Program, PI and Faculty Advisor for Google Ignite CS Program. Computer Science Education and Research. Cyber Security. Information Assurance. K-12 Computing Education and Outreach. Cyber Security Education Technologies and Tools. Privacy. Enhanced Surveillance Design Technologies.
(920) 465-5679. chattopa@uwgb.edu.

Phillip Clampitt, Communication Chair, Information Science Chair, Computer Science Chair, Blair Endowed Chair of Communication. Organizational Communications; How organizations communicate with their employees, what messages and issues motivate employees, and how to build a world class communication system. Public Relations. Corporate Communications. Social Media. Leadership Communication; How successful leaders motivate others, what messages successful leaders share with others, and communication skills of successful leaders.
(920) 465-2324. clampitp@uwgb.edu.

Benjamin Geisler, Lecturer of Information and Computing Science. Game Development.
(920) 465-2308. geislerb@uwgb.edu.

Baylei Schmit, CRM Recruitment Specialist. Salesforce CRM, Pardot Email Engagements, Form Assembly, Reporting, Data Management
(920) 465-2124. schmitb@uwgb.edu.

Katie L. Turkiewicz, Assistant Professor of Information and Computing Science. Advisor for Health Communication Emphasis. Communications and Media; Interpersonal communication, human communication and technology, conflict, health. Health and Wellness; Health Communication, online health information-seeking.
(920) 465-2481. turkiewk@uwgb.edu.

Engineering Technology:

Mohammad Upal Mahfuz, Assistant Professor of Natural & Applied Sciences and Engineering Technology. Electrical Engineering.
(920) 465-2790. mahfuzm@uwgb.edu.

Geology:

Ryan Currier, Assistant Professor of Geoscience and Natural & Applied Sciences. Geology; Volcanoes; Ore Deposits; Natural Hazards; Earthquakes
(920) 465-2582. currierr@uwgb.edu.

Mathew Dornbush, Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Director of Graduate Studies. Plant Ecology; Restoration Ecology; Invasive Species; Soil Quality and Health; Biofuels
(920) 465-2454. dornbusm@uwgb.edu.

Kevin Fermanich, Professor of Geoscience, Environmental Science and Natural & Applied Sciences. Chemicals in the Soil and Water; Soil Quality; Water Quality, especially surface and ground waters; Climate Change—Impacts on Water Quality
(920) 465-2240. fermanik@uwgb.edu.

John Luczaj, Professor of Geoscience and Natural & Applied Sciences. Geologic History of Wisconsin
(920) 465-5139. luczajj@uwgb.edu.

Immunology:

Brian Merkel, Associate Professor of Human Biology (Biology). Immunology. Effects of PCBs on humans. Environmental justice.
(920) 465-2262. merkelb@uwgb.edu.

Spiders and Insects:

Michael Draney, Professor of Natural & Applied Sciences, Associate Professor of Biology. Spiders, Insects, and other Invertebrate Animals  
(920) 465-2270. draneym@uwgb.edu.

Frogs:

Daniel Meinhardt, Associate Professor of Biology and Human Biology. Evolutionary biology. Anatomy of vertebrates. Amphibians (particularly frogs). Philosophy of science.
(920) 465-2398. meinhada@uwgb.edu.

Volcanoes and Earthquakes:

John Luczaj, Professor of Geoscience and Natural & Applied Sciences. Geologic History of Wisconsin
(920) 465-5139. luczajj@uwgb.edu.

Ryan Currier, Assistant Professor of Geoscience and Natural & Applied Sciences. Geology; Volcanoes; Ore Deposits; Natural Hazards; Earthquakes
(920) 465-2582. currierr@uwgb.edu.

Weather and Climate:

Steven Meyer, Associate Professor of Natural and Applied Sciences (Geoscience). Climate change and the causes and consequences of global warming. Severe and extreme weather events. General weather and climate information.
(920) 465-5022. meyers@uwgb.edu.

Heidi Fencl, Professor of Natural and Applied Sciences (Physics). Gamma-ray bursters.
(920) 465-2261. fenclh@uwgb.edu.

Donna Ritch, Associate Dean of College of Liberal Arts & Sciences and Associate Professor of Human Biology. Anatomy; Cell Biology; Human Disease
(920) 465-2274. ritchd@uwgb.edu.

Return to top | Return to Experts Guide home