Committee Members

Chair: Georgette Heyrman

Georgette Heyrman

Georgette Heyrman

Associate Professor
LS 462


My research focuses on ovarian cancer, the most deadly gynecologic cancer. I am currently working on 2 projects: 
     1) Understanding the role of steroid hormone signaling in controlling gene expression in ovarian cancer, and
     2) Identifying novel therapeutic targets for treating ovarian cancer through... Read more »

Paul Mueller

Paul Mueller

Assistant Professor
LS 452

Research Interests

I am interested in elucidating the regulatory pathways that control eukaryotic cell proliferation, particularly in relation to embryogenesis and development. Current projects include: 1) understanding why and how the cells of the paraxial mesoderm stop dividing during convergent extension and somitogenesis, 2) the development of an in vivo system to search for G2... Read more »

Pieter deHart

Pieter deHart

Associate Vice Chancellor For Graduate Studies and Research

Pieter deHart is the Associate Vice Chancellor for Graduate Studies and Research. In this role, he provides leadership for both the Office of Grants and Research and the Office of Graduate Studies. Dr. deHart has a Ph.D. in Marine Biology from the University of Alaska, Fairbanks, and came to us most recently from Maine where he served as the Dean of Environmental Conservation and Research... Read more »

Amy Koffarnus, Community Member

Cassandra Baumgart, Community Member


Scott Piontek, University Safety Manager ex-officio


*McKinley Lentz, Administrative Support
*Roger Wareham, Director of Grants and Research