Becoming a Trainer
Become a trainer in a provider setting.
Our courses provide participants with the program knowledge, training skills and curriculum to offer high-quality trainings within their own organizations on the core curriculum for caregivers.
Efficiently Receive Training in One Week for Multiple Courses
Our four train-the-trainer courses will allow you to become eligible to apply with the Community-Based Care and Treatment Training Registry as a trainer of the CBRF state curriculum and are designed to mostly take place over the course of one business week. Two of our trainings overlap (First Aid and Choking and Medication Administration). If you are interested in taking both Medication Administration and First Aid and Choking, you will need to complete those in separate months.
All of our instructors are highly-qualified and are either nurses or firefighters/EMTs and approved by the Wisconsin Training Registry. Our train-the-trainer courses are live virtual trainings with the exception of Medication Administration, which is a hybrid course with the third day of training occurring in-person. Our courses are approved by the Wisconsin Department of Health Services, Bureau of Assisted Living, the Division of Quality Assurance and the Wisconsin Community-Based Care and Treatment Training Registry for individuals seeking approval as assisted living instructors without a medical and emergency service background.
WIOA Funded Tuition Assistance
The Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) was signed into law to help job seekers access employment, education, training and support services. Our four train-the-trainer courses have been approved for WIOA funding. Eligible job seekers may apply at your local Job Center. Visit the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development website to learn more about WIOA tuition assistance.
3-Day Hybrid Course: $1,400
Online: Mondays & Tuesdays, 8 a.m.-5 p.m. and
In-Person: Wednesdays, 8 a.m.-3 p.m., Milwaukee Area
- March 18-20
- April 22-24
- May 20-22
- June 10-12
- July 22-24
- August 19-21
Half-Day Online Course: $500
Online: Fridays, 8 a.m.-1:30 p.m. (unless otherwise noted)
- March 22
- April 26
- May 24
- June 14
- July 26
- August 23
1-Day Online Course: $1,000
Online: Thursdays, 8 a.m.-5:30 p.m. (unless otherwise noted)
- March 21
- April 8 (Monday)
- April 25
- April 30 (Tuesday)
- May 23
- June 13
- July 25
First Aid & Choking*
1-Day Online Course: $1,000
Online: Wednesdays, 8 a.m.-5:30 p.m. (unless otherwise noted)
- March 20
- April 24
- May 22
- June 12
- July 24
- August 21
*The Medication Administration in-person section and First Aid and Choking trainings overlap on Wednesdays. Therefore, if you want to take Medication Administration, you will need to wait to take First Aid and Choking the next month.
- There is a transfer fee of 20% of your registration fee to transfer to a training in another month within 10 days of the training you are registered for. We have a maximum capacity for each of our trainings and we often meet this capacity. Transferring to another month close to the date of the training prevents others who want to take the training from taking it that month. Withdrawing from the course without transferring to another month or to another staff member will result in a refund of your registration fee minus the 20% cancellation fee if it is more than 10 days before the date of the training. Withdrawing within 10 days will result in no refund.
- You will be required to be on camera and have access to audio and a microphone throughout the duration of the training. Our trainings are live, interactive trainings. Please make sure you can dedicate the time and focus required to complete this training before registering. You must have high-speed internet and access to a computer with a microphone and camera. We recommend using an updated version of Chrome as your browser.
- More details will be provided on exact location of Wednesday's in-person training for Medication Administration after you register.
- All courses require a three-hour self-paced online adult education component in advance of any Train-the-Trainer course. The link for the adult education component will be included in your confirmation of registration for any Train-the-Trainer course. There is no extra cost for this component.
- Please note our registration software can only accept Visa and Mastercard. We apologize for any inconvenience. If you need to pay by check, please email email@example.com and request an invoice.
Get Back Into Canvas
If you have registered for a course, here's a quick link to the Canvas login to check on your progress and take any assessments.
Apply for State Approval
Once you have completed your coursework, you will need to submit an application to the Wisconsin Community-Based Care and Treatment Training Registry and receive approval for each core area to be eligible to begin teaching.