x
 
All campuses are closed to public per state emergency order. All classes at all UW-Green Bay campuses will be taught via alternative delivery methods through the summer. Visit our coronavirus (COVID-19) website for more information.

Legal Holidays

 

Legal Holiday 2020 2021
New Year's Day Wednesday, January 1, 2020 Friday, January 1, 2021
Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday Observed Monday, January 20, 2020 Monday, January 18, 2021
Memorial Day Monday, May 25, 2020 Monday, May 31, 2021
Independence Day Saturday, July 4, 2020* Sunday, July 4, 2021
(Observed Monday, July 5, 2021)
Labor Day Monday, September 7, 2020 Monday, September 6, 2021
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 26, 2020 Thursday, November 25, 2021
Christmas Eve Thursday, December 24, 2020 Friday, December 24, 2021
Christmas Day Friday, December 25, 2020 Saturday, December 25, 2021*
New Year's Eve Thursday, December 31, 2020 Friday, December 31, 2021
*Floating Holiday is granted.

University offices are closed on these days. If you are a University Staff employee and occupy a position that requires you to work on a holiday, you earn time and a half for all hours worked. You can also defer the holiday to use at a later time.
If a legal holiday occurs on an employee's regularly scheduled day off (i.e., Saturday or Sunday), floating legal holiday time is granted (see exception below).

Exception: If the legal holidays of January 1, July 4, or December 25 occur on a Sunday, University offices will be closed on the following day (Monday) in observance of the legal holiday.
 
Allocation of Floating Legal Holiday
Floating legal holiday is allocated to the employee during the pay period in which the legal holiday occurs and will appear on the next leave or earnings statement.
 
Use of Floating Legal Holiday
Floating legal holiday may be used any time during the year it is earned. University staff employees must use the  floating legal holiday hours during the calendar year it is earned. Academic Staff and Limited employees must use the legal holiday hours during the fiscal year it is earned. If used before the legal holiday occurs, the balance will appear as a negative number on your earnings statement. Please refer to the bi-weekly and monthly absence instructions for how to record a floating legal holiday.

There are no provisions to allow employees to carryover floating legal holiday into the next fiscal year (Academic Staff/Limited) or calendar year (University Staff).